The GED exam has a passing score of 145 on each of the four subject area tests. Therefore, students need to reach a score of at least 145 on each subject test and a total score of 580 or higher across all four tests in order to receive their High School Equivalency credential. Scores are measured on a 100 - 200 scale. This is how scoring on the GED test is broken down:

  • Below Passing: 100 – 144
  • Passing Score (high school equivalency): 145 – 164
  • College Ready: 165 – 174  
  • College Ready plus Credit: 175 – 200

You can read all about it here:

The TASC exam requires you to reach at least a 500 score on each one of the five subtests (so 2500 in total) and no less than tow points on your essay.


On the HiSET exam you need to score 8 (out of 20) points for each of the five tests, reach a 2-points score for you essay, and have no less than 45 points for the entire battery.